Posted By On 19 Jan 2019

solo clarinet quartet & symphony orchestra 5′


Nieuw Amsterdams Klarinet Kwartet & Sweelinck Orkest Amsterdam

First Performer

Nieuw Amsterdams Klarinet Kwartet & Sweelinck Orkest Amsterdam, Konradin Herzog conductor. Concertgebouw Amsterdam, the Netherlands, the 18th of June 2019


Guillermo Lago.
Score and parts (not yet) available on this site € 80

Related work

  • Ciudades for clarinet quartet
  • Ciudades for saxophone quartet

Program notes

‘Ciudades’ (Cities) is a series of musical sketches of cities that have a special meaning to Lago. It is a work in progress and Lago adds new sketches now and then. The various city portraits can be performed as a suite or as stand-alone pieces: when played as a suite the order of the movements can be decided freely by the performing quartet.

‘Sarajevo’ (Bosnia and Herzegovina) is dedicated to Lago’s many friends in the capital of Bosnia and Herzegovina. In the nineties of the last century the town was hit by a cruel civil war. In the beginning of this milennium Lago was invited to help re-establishing a saxophone class at the Sarajevo Academy of Music and together with ‘Musicians Without Borders’ and his friend Adnan Cico he founded the ‘Winds of Change’; Bosnia and Herzegovina’s first wind ensemble. A group of young musicians, each of them affected by the country’s recent history.

This version was made for a series of concerts by the NAKK and the Sweelinck Orkest.


Categorys: All Works, Orchestra